Innova chamion plastic question

Golf Discs, Bags, Baskets, Videos, and other Disc Golf Related Equipment

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Innova chamion plastic question

Postby koronin » Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:15 pm

I'm a novice player who uses a few Innova DX discs (leopard, cheetah, stingray, shark, avair) and am getting the hang of things pretty well. I play in a tightly wooded course and my leopard is getting beat up pretty good and turns over much easier than it used to, I'm guessing due to age/wear?

My question is, is the champion plastic differ much from the DX in terms of control? I've found a nice and light (150, good for me) Champion Leopard and was debating on purchase thinking that it would be about the same but would last longer due to the plastic.

Many thanks,
Jeff
koronin
Tree Magnet

Postby Amateur » Thu Aug 31, 2006 2:42 pm

Champion plastic is more overstable (harder to control for beginners) and usually is the shortest in flight. Discs become more understable as they get beat up.

A Champion Leopard is a great disc for a beginner who likes to hit trees! It will take a long time for you to wear it in (years). Even when you outgrow this disc as a straight driver it will still be useful as a right turnover driver. It will be money well spent in this case.
Amateur
MMMM drop your juicy 'maters in my gaping maw

Favorite Disc: Challenger

Postby Thatdirtykid » Thu Aug 31, 2006 3:09 pm

champion is also generally more inconsistant in terms of control, if you look in any sucessful pros bag, you will be most likey to see discs they use for control in pro-D/DX plastics. DX plastic will also teach you more about your form and in the long run make you a better player.
Z Pred-ESP Cyclone-Z Force-Z Aftershock-Z Comet-Ion-Pro Rhyno
Thatdirtykid
Disc Whore

Favorite Disc: z pred

Postby dflaschiii » Thu Aug 31, 2006 7:06 pm