Progression into premium plastics

Golf Discs, Bags, Baskets, Videos, and other Disc Golf Related Equipment

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Progression into premium plastics

Postby majorsick » Tue Sep 05, 2006 1:01 pm

I've been lurking the forum for about a month and this is an awesome site.

I've definitely figured out that premium plastics are not good to learn on. I've got 3 DX discs that I've been using for a couple months now. Leopard, Coyote and Birdie. My leopard is getting pretty broken in (it turns over when thrown straight where as before it had a natural hyzer line) and I feel like my power is developing a bit beyond it. I could be wrong but I can really rip that thing now. I can get 300 feet pretty regularly.

My question is, where do I go from here? I like the leopard as an understable disc (I can really park the anhyzer shots with it) but I'd like something I can continue to develop power with.

When do you guys begin to phase in the more premium plastics, if ever? Any feedback is appreciated.

Thanks,
sick
majorsick
Noob

Postby superq » Tue Sep 05, 2006 1:08 pm

I dont think that learning on premium plastic is nescesarrly a bad thing. What I have strong feeling about is learning on nothing to overstable, and that may have something to do with plastic. For example a star stingray is a lot more stable at high speed than a dx.

So if you are throwing DX now and are not having a problem keeping them on the lines you are trying to hit go ahead and move into better plastic, you will like it. As you get better and throw farther you will discover that DX plastic is just not as durable, I can ruin a driver in one throw with DX where the same hit with E plastic would only season the disc a little more.

Get the good stuff just make sure you can throw it without it dive bombing left while it should still be flying

my.02
superq
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: FOCUS

Postby Timko » Tue Sep 05, 2006 1:11 pm