Innova disc to disc variability

Golf Discs, Bags, Baskets, Videos, and other Disc Golf Related Equipment

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Innova disc to disc variability

Postby tchamber » Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:47 pm

I'm just curious if anyone else has noticed things like this, and how you deal with it. Here's my latest story on the variability inherent in innova's disc molding process.

I've been trying to throw Valks ever since I started playing disc golf about 9 months ago, with little to no success. I drive consistently 300' controlled and 325' still with decent consistency. Most of the Valks I've thrown had a domey sort of lid to them and turned pretty hard left, but I just got one from GGGT a while ago that had a flat top. This thing throws like a COMPLETELY different disc. It's a LOT faster out of the hand and super straight, after a few more rounds I can tell it will be turning over and will become a hyzer flipping dream.

How is it that there's so much variability between innova's runs? How do you deal with this? Is there anyone who has just given up on internet ordering so that you can see the shape of the disc before you buy? Also, I'm throwing ~167g drivers, is there less variability in the max weight drivers?

I've seen this quite a bit with different innova molds, but discraft's discs seem to be much more consistent between runs.
tchamber
Noob

Postby Eric O » Wed Sep 20, 2006 12:55 pm

I throw a lot of Innova and I definitely like to inspect a disc personally before buying. There is a local dealer with online ordering prices ($7-14) so that usually makes it easy for me.

Variance between runs is kind of a bitch. As far as Valks in particular I have bought three lately in star plastic between 170 and 174. I picked them out myself out of big stacks and they have all pretty much flown the same. I try to stick with the same color plastic but I don't really know if that is helping or not.
Eric O
1000 Rated Poster