Sidewinder or Roadrunner for beginner?

Golf Discs, Bags, Baskets, Videos, and other Disc Golf Related Equipment

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Sidewinder or Roadrunner for beginner?

Postby jrc3 » Mon Nov 07, 2005 10:08 pm

I've been playing for about two months, and based on this site's advice I have been using a 169 Dx Leopard, a 168 Dx Shark, a 168 Dx Stingray, and a 179 #2 Upshot as my core discs. I can get pretty good action on the Shark and the Stingray, and have accidentally turned them both over ("come back, come back . . . it's not coming back") a few times. I can throw the Leopard straight about 250' , but have only seen it start to turn over in a strong headwind. I also have a 170 Teebird that I can not throw straight, or very far. Based on these results, I think I'm in the lower end of power level 3 on Blake's "Universal Flight Chart."

I want to get more distance, and I am practicing and working on my technique as much as I can, but I am wondering if I can "buy some distance" in the short term with a Sidewinder or a Roadrunner. I am hesitant to disc up from the Leopard due to my experience with the Teebird, but I am tempted by the "beginner's distance driver" description on Innova's website, and by the power level 3 rating for the Sidewinder on Blake's chart. Is one of these discs appropriate for me, and if so which one? Or should I just stick with what I have and work on technique?

Any advice from Blake or others would be appreciated. Also, thanks for this site, Blake, it's been a great resource for me as I get started in this sport.
jrc3
Noob

Postby Blake_T » Tue Nov 08, 2005 7:20 am

if you want to develop a fundamentally sound throw, stay away from champion plastic for now.

while imo there are better discs to learn with than a leopard, the leopard is a much better choice than the sidewinder or roadrunner.

at 250' your leopard probably shoudln't turn at all.