Overhand Sidewinder vs Firebird

Golf Discs, Bags, Baskets, Videos, and other Disc Golf Related Equipment

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Overhand Sidewinder vs Firebird

Postby punch » Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:11 am

I just started playing around with a overhand throw (thumbers mostly) and have been thinking of picking up a dedicated overhand disc. I have been using a sidewinder for now but have been thinking of buying a firebird. What will a firebird do for me in terms of a overhand throw that a sidewinder won't do? I am currently throwing a little over 325 ft lhbh and about 200 ft sidearm been play for 3 months.
Rhyno - Shark3 - Leopard - Teebird - Mamba
punch
Noob

Re: Overhand Sidewinder vs Firebird

Postby Tokyo » Thu Jun 20, 2013 11:49 am

Totally depends on how the sidewinder flips and flies through the air for you. If you are looking to try a more stable disc than sidewinder maybe an Orc or beast is in line if you r using sidewinder firebird might b to stable and not work, I use a banshee stable small rim slow flip but that's me.
Tokyo
Noob

Favorite Disc: Champ Teebird

Postby Jesse B 707 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 12:53 pm

Generally a more overstable disc will give overhands much slower turn and in turn better distance potential
http://ufosdg.org/
XXX,PD2,BOSS,KATANA,PD,ROC,VP,RATTLER,MAGNET
Jesse B 707
Rocstar

Favorite Disc: ROC

Postby kern9787 » Thu Jun 20, 2013 2:44 pm

Jesse B 707 wrote:Generally a more overstable disc will give overhands much slower turn and in turn better distance potential

This. Of course the trade off is that the more overstable disc, since it is turning slower, will need more room laterally to complete its flight.
P2 - Fuse - ROCS!!! - QJLS - QPLS - QOLS - PD - Predator - Quasar
kern9787
Fairway Surgeon

Postby 7ontheline » Thu Jun 20, 2013 10:25 pm

punch wrote:What will a firebird do for me in terms of a overhand throw that a sidewinder won't do?