Need help on disc purchase

Golf Discs, Bags, Baskets, Videos, and other Disc Golf Related Equipment

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Need help on disc purchase

Postby smpen45 » Wed Jun 28, 2006 9:24 pm

I am a amateur player who needs some disc advice. As to how i throw, I used to get 250-350 foot drives consistently, but now have "lost my game" and usually screw up some way (big anhyzer).

Im looking for a stable driver with slight fade that wont wear too much and go way understable on me. I did some searching and i cant decide between an XS or an XL. Which should i get and should i get Elite X or Elite Z?

Thanks
smpen45
Noob

Postby adidadg » Thu Jun 29, 2006 8:23 am

I'd go with the XL as i think it is more controllable. The X version is nice but it will turn fairly understable in not too much time. Im a big fan of the Z-version, ive had the same one in my bag for over 3 years now, and it just gets sweeter with age. It started out as my main stable driver, and now I like it for straight tunnel shots and whatnot. However if you throw with alot of torque and have trouble with discs turning over, you might want to step up to something a bit more stable like maybe a teebird. But IMO if you can learn to control a straight driver like an XL, your overall game will improve in the long run.

Just curious as to what drivers you are currently throwing and struggling with??
adidadg

Postby Thatdirtykid » Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:32 am

take the star tl into consideration too, its alittle more stable than a Z xl
Z Pred-ESP Cyclone-Z Force-Z Aftershock-Z Comet-Ion-Pro Rhyno
Thatdirtykid
Disc Whore

Favorite Disc: z pred

Postby smpen45 » Thu Jun 29, 2006 10:54 am

I usually throw a champion valkyrie, and was getting great shots out of it, but now that ive had it for awhile it is anhyzering a lot. I can shoot it level forehand for about 180 feet, but with a big fade at the end. I have been using a pro beast, but i shoot that a bit high.
smpen45