Home Brewing

Non-Disc Golf Stuff

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Home Brewing

Postby Terrence » Wed Feb 07, 2007 10:14 pm

I'm just getting into it this winter, and even though I haven't tasted any of my brew yet, it's been a lot of fun so far. I've got a batch of amber ale in the secondary fermenter that's a week away from bottling. I just brewed a mild nut brown ale tonight.

So far I've been working with malt extracts and specialty grains. They're very easy to work with and aside from fermenters and the like, no other special equipment is needed. Anyone else make their own beer?

Here we are siphoning the Amber ale from the fermenter bucket to the glass carboy. My brother is enjoying a Sam Adams boston lager.
DX Teebird - Star Teebird - Pro Wraith - 4X JK Pro Valkyrie - 150g ESP Flick - DGA Tsunami
1st Run Star Cro - 5 bar stamp DX Rocs - 2004 Champ Roc
3 DX Aviars - KC Pro Aviar
Terrence
Tree Magnet

Favorite Disc: DX Roc

Postby redspexxx » Thu Feb 08, 2007 8:37 am

no, but i do want to try. my friend has a home brew kit. where do you get things like hops and malts?
redspexxx
Fairway Surgeon

Postby Terrence » Thu Feb 08, 2007 12:23 pm

For our first batch, we drove to the nearest home brew supply. They had the ingredients for every brew under the sun there. Since the store is 100 miles away I just ordered a recipe kit from www.northernbrewer.com for the second batch. The recipe kits include detailed instructions and come with really awesome liquid yeast packs that activate themselves.
DX Teebird - Star Teebird - Pro Wraith - 4X JK Pro Valkyrie - 150g ESP Flick - DGA Tsunami
Terrence
Tree Magnet

Postby NoLifeLeft » Thu Feb 08, 2007 9:45 pm

I've been brewing for over a year now. I was actually in the middle of setting myself up with a kegging system until my wife's car decided to blow-up. :roll:
NoLifeLeft
1000 Rated Poster

Favorite Disc: a whole bag of 'em

Postby garublador » Fri Feb 09, 2007 7:47 am