Vehicle advise

Non-Disc Golf Stuff

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Vehicle advise

Postby chris86wm » Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:21 pm

For starters, I am a poor college student. I drive a 94 Mazda b2300 pickup (125,000 miles) and I have been having transmission problems for the last week. It takes like 5 minutes for the truck to kick into reverse and second gear is acting up. I took it into a transmission shop and they said that the entire transmission needs to be replaced and estimated the cost to be about $1500 (i wouldnt be surprised if they charged me more).

I am well aware that my truck is a POS and I would be lucky to get $2500 for it in good condition, so $1500 seems like alot of money to be sinking into it.

So I am faced with a decision.

(1)I could sink big money into my truck and hope to god it runs me for a few more years without major problems. Maybe it will be fine for a few years, or maybe it blows up again in another month or so.
OR
(2) I could buy a cheap used car (budget is $2500-$4000)
-Can I get any kind of sale/trade-in value out of the truck?
-Are there any decent cars that fall into this price range?

I must admit I know absolutely nothing about cars so buying a used one scares the crap out of me.
I did some searches on the net and found a few models that may be worth checking in to:
Toyota Tercel, Camry, and Corolla
Honda Accord and Civic

I really dont care what the car looks like as long as it is dependable and gets good gas mileage.

Anybody have any ideas? I could really use the help :shock:
chris86wm
Tree Magnet

Postby J2 » Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:24 pm

a 94 mazda pickup worth 2500? i dont think so....
J2
Noob

Postby chris86wm » Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:30 pm

KBB says around $2,000 for "good" condition.....Trouble is the "good" part. Like I said, i know its crap.

I also know i spelled "advice" wrong in the title :lol:
chris86wm
Tree Magnet

Postby Solty » Fri Apr 27, 2007 8:49 pm