computer memory question

Non-Disc Golf Stuff

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

computer memory question

Postby domromer » Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:01 am

My computer is starting to run slow and I want to add some memory. I've got a dell e310 and the manual says it can expand up to 2gigs of ram. I opened up the case and found 2 memory slots, both are full and say 512megs each. I'm new to hardware so forgive me if this question is stupid. Would I take out the 2 512meg cards and replace them with 1 gig cards each? I was pretty sure of myself until I found a website that mentioned how both ports on the pc are already full. I wasn't sure if that meant I couldn't upgrade the ram that was already there.
If all you ever do is all you've ever done, then all you'll ever get is all you've ever got

http://www.dustybootsphotography.com
domromer
Plastic Fondler

Favorite Disc: JLS....Bitches!

Postby chris86wm » Tue Jun 19, 2007 12:46 am

Yes, you would take out the two sticks of 512mb and pop in two sticks of 1g to get 2g total of ram. You don't necessarily have to take them both out. You could remove one and replace it with a gig stick to make it 1.5g. It really just depends on what you wanna do.

My guess is that your computer is running DDR ram. DDR2 is now the industry standard and will NOT work with your ram if it is DDR.
Run a check using this:
http://images.crucial.com/drivers/CrucialScan.exe

It should list all of your installed ram as well as what kind it is. Look in the "Currently installed memory" section of the report and you should see something like "DDR PC3200" or you may see DDR2 listed. Depending on what the report gives you, that is what you will need to buy to upgrade (ie, if it says DDR then buy 2 1g sticks of DDR, if it says DDR2, then get 2 1g sticks of DDR2 ram.)
chris86wm
Tree Magnet

Postby kvanorsdel » Tue Jun 19, 2007 6:38 am