Black Aces

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Black Aces

Postby SkaBob » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:54 am

So we were discussing black aces yesterday at league and I figured if anyone could answer this, they'd be on here...

Say you hit a black ace...Are you considered in-bounds and do you just play it like any other lie?
I threw Wizards before they were cool.
SkaBob
Disc Whore
 
Posts: 3493
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:51 am
Location: Detroit
Favorite Disc: Comet

Postby jeremy » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:57 am

801.04
(3) Wrong Target: If a player holes out
on the wrong target for a given hole, he or
she will continue play from a lie directly
beneath that target, without penalty. If
the player holes out at the wrong target,
and believes the hole is completed,
and proceeds to play the next hole, a
two-throw penalty will be added to that
player’s score for misplaying the course.
jeremy
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:01 am
Location: Nashville, TN/Atlanta, GA
Favorite Disc: 178gr Comet

Postby marmoset » Tue Sep 23, 2008 9:58 am

I have hear a couple of different definitions for Black Ace; do you mean landing in a basket that is not the official basket for the hole?

If that IS what you meant then the disc 'comes to rest' directly below the basket and you treat it like a regular throw. There is a rulr for this in the PDGA manual but I'll have to find it.

Edit: The rule has been found for me^^^.
marmoset
King of Calipers
User avatar
 
Posts: 2813
Joined: Fri May 09, 2008 10:23 am
Location: 24073

Postby SkaBob » Tue Sep 23, 2008 10:02 am

hahaha knew I could count on you guys! such a speedy reply! Thanks!
I threw Wizards before they were cool.
SkaBob
Disc Whore
 
Posts: 3493
Joined: Fri Mar 16, 2007 9:51 am
Location: Detroit
Favorite Disc: Comet

Postby tumpsi » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:07 pm

SkaBob wrote:hahaha knew I could count on you guys! such a speedy reply! Thanks!

Come on, this is DGR. You're under underestimating us.

PS. I used to listen N'sync when they were UG.
Max Boss Teebird Roc Wizard
tumpsi
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1129
Joined: Thu Feb 07, 2008 11:16 am
Location: Finland

Postby matchu » Tue Sep 23, 2008 12:11 pm

it also means you pay everyone on your card 5 bucks if you are in the 51 club.
a buddy of mine hit a black ace, we were playing safari golf and he actually hit the correct basket but, like I stated we were playing to a different basket. priceless.
Synchronize the why’s, the if’s the lies. Shake and sift through the mess. Digress the flesh left is our disguise.

matchu
matchu
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:03 pm

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Tue Sep 23, 2008 2:46 pm

A gray ace is when you hit one on the other basket (usually short) on the same hole that has more than one basket installed like at Warwick.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Postby Roy » Tue Sep 23, 2008 5:49 pm

Oh Oh!!!

I got a black ace before I ever got a real one. The few, the proud 8)
Roy
Colonel Cleavage
User avatar
 
Posts: 2311
Joined: Mon Jun 18, 2007 6:49 pm
Location: Practice

Postby Parks » Tue Sep 23, 2008 6:59 pm

Chuck Kennedy wrote:A gray ace is when you hit one on the other basket (usually short) on the same hole that has more than one basket installed like at Warwick.


My first ace was similar.

There are three pin positions, and one basket so it moves around. Two of them are out sight from the tee, and I thought the basket was at the longer hidden position. I shanked my drive into the short placement where the basket luckily was that day :D
We're at our best when it's from our hips
Parks
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1784
Joined: Fri May 11, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Spokane, WA

Postby Bugbee » Thu Sep 25, 2008 2:59 pm

801.04
(3) Wrong Target: If a player holes out
on the wrong target for a given hole, he or
she will continue play from a lie directly
beneath that target, without penalty. If
the player holes out at the wrong target,
and believes the hole is completed,
and proceeds to play the next hole, a
two-throw penalty will be added to that
player’s score for misplaying the course.


So does this mean if there is a basket that is really close to the next hole's teepad, and that next hole is say, a long par five, I could throw at the closer one and say I though that was the basket that I was supposed to be playing to and take a easy 4? Dick move!
Bugbee
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:10 pm
Location: Jersey
Favorite Disc: 174g Z Predator

Postby MDR_3000 » Thu Sep 25, 2008 3:10 pm

Bugbee wrote:
801.04
(3) Wrong Target: If a player holes out
on the wrong target for a given hole, he or
she will continue play from a lie directly
beneath that target, without penalty. If
the player holes out at the wrong target,
and believes the hole is completed,
and proceeds to play the next hole, a
two-throw penalty will be added to that
player’s score for misplaying the course.


So does this mean if there is a basket that is really close to the next hole's teepad, and that next hole is say, a long par five, I could throw at the closer one and say I though that was the basket that I was supposed to be playing to and take a easy 4? Dick move!



actually that would be a DQ for trying to circumvent the rules.
MDR_3000
I Throw Faaar
 
Posts: 825
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:48 pm
Location: Davenport, IA

Postby Bugbee » Thu Sep 25, 2008 4:27 pm

actually that would be a DQ for trying to circumvent the rules.


Woah, not saying I would do this sort of thing. I am very strict , more than most, about the rules of DG. I was just putting that out there as a joke. Maybe that just translated to hostility because text is a subpar means of communication, but if not, chill.
Bugbee
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 317
Joined: Tue Feb 26, 2008 10:10 pm
Location: Jersey
Favorite Disc: 174g Z Predator

Postby some call me...tim? » Thu Sep 25, 2008 5:59 pm

hehe, I seem to remember MDR getting similar flack before a while ago. For the record, MDR is just a man of few words, and is not a dick. :lol:
some call me...tim?
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1946
Joined: Fri Jun 16, 2006 12:01 pm
Location: Seattle, WA

Postby Steady 26542 » Thu Sep 25, 2008 8:48 pm

MDR_3000 wrote:actually that would be a DQ for trying to circumvent the rules.


Short and sweet and correct.
Image
Team MILLENNIUM
Team Gorilla Boy
Team Iron Lion
Steady 26542
2010 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Quad Cities
Favorite Disc: Omega SS

Postby MDR_3000 » Fri Sep 26, 2008 7:33 am

Tim_the_Enchanter wrote:hehe, I seem to remember MDR getting similar flack before a while ago. For the record, MDR is just a man of few words, and is not a dick. :lol:


laconic is the word I would use.
MDR_3000
I Throw Faaar
 
Posts: 825
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:48 pm
Location: Davenport, IA

Next

Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron