I just don't understand

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

I just don't understand

Postby Midnightbiker » Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:35 pm

Why is that that any part of the basket can support a disc, and it counts, but if you land on the top, that dosen't count? That makes no sense. This rule has cost me a stoke in a couple of rounds.
Listen to The Love Doctors on Real Radio 10am-3pm Eastern
Click here
http://www.wzzr.com/pages/the_lovedocs.html
Midnightbiker
Plastic Fondler
User avatar
 
Posts: 2282
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: Texas
Favorite Disc: Magnet

Postby dgdave » Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:38 pm

Because its not IN the basket. Its ON the basket.
"The Gauge may be the best disc ever"
-dgdave
dgdave
DGR Postmaster General
User avatar
 
Posts: 12050
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Central OK
Favorite Disc: GAUGE!

Postby Midnightbiker » Sun Sep 28, 2008 8:59 pm

dgdave wrote:Because its not IN the basket. Its ON the basket.


So is this and it counts:

Image
Listen to The Love Doctors on Real Radio 10am-3pm Eastern
Click here
http://www.wzzr.com/pages/the_lovedocs.html
Midnightbiker
Plastic Fondler
User avatar
 
Posts: 2282
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: Texas
Favorite Disc: Magnet

Postby dgdave » Sun Sep 28, 2008 9:10 pm

Part of the disc is in the basket. No part of the disc is in the basket if its resting on top
"The Gauge may be the best disc ever"
-dgdave
dgdave
DGR Postmaster General
User avatar
 
Posts: 12050
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Central OK
Favorite Disc: GAUGE!

Postby Midnightbiker » Sun Sep 28, 2008 9:14 pm

Ok, Ok, you have a point. :oops:
Listen to The Love Doctors on Real Radio 10am-3pm Eastern
Click here
http://www.wzzr.com/pages/the_lovedocs.html
Midnightbiker
Plastic Fondler
User avatar
 
Posts: 2282
Joined: Sat Oct 13, 2007 7:00 pm
Location: Texas
Favorite Disc: Magnet

Postby Leopard » Mon Sep 29, 2008 8:15 am

plus you gotta buy your card a 12-pack if you land on top

if it's in the basket, no beer.

clear distinction 8)
keltik wrote:I think ZAM had the right idea.
dgdave wrote:Listen to ZAM.
jsun3thousand wrote:zam is already in your pants.
i post things at facebook.com/PostID
Leopard
Forward Visualyzer
User avatar
 
Posts: 4461
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 4:04 pm
Location: 30 miles x 100 miles x stinking island
Favorite Disc: Leo

Postby Mark Brunner » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:17 am

My issue with this rule is either have both cases count (on top or wedged in the side) or don't have either count.

The reason for the chain assembly is that the target area is a certain distance between 2 points on the poll. If I am putting at a Tone Pole to that area, and it hits then it counts. Having the chain assembly will catch those discs that were within that Pole Area... With that in mind, putts that stick in the side should not count and neither should discs on top.

So again, both or neither... Good luck getting that to change.
Mark Brunner
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 217
Joined: Wed Jan 18, 2006 9:49 pm
Location: Milwaukee, Wi

Postby Steady 26542 » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:46 am

Is this in??

Image
Image
Team MILLENNIUM
Team Gorilla Boy
Team Iron Lion
Steady 26542
2010 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Quad Cities
Favorite Disc: Omega SS

Postby Star Shark » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:49 am

Yes, that's in, so long as it doesn't fall off on it's own.
-- Star Shark
Star Shark
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1463
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:27 am
Location: Studio City, CA
Favorite Disc: Ghost, Patriot, SL

Postby jeremy » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:50 am

I beleive part of it has to be in the entrapment area.
jeremy
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 580
Joined: Tue Apr 10, 2007 2:01 am
Location: Nashville, TN/Atlanta, GA
Favorite Disc: 178gr Comet

Postby Leopard » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:50 am

supported by the pan, i say yes.

... until it falls
keltik wrote:I think ZAM had the right idea.
dgdave wrote:Listen to ZAM.
jsun3thousand wrote:zam is already in your pants.
i post things at facebook.com/PostID
Leopard
Forward Visualyzer
User avatar
 
Posts: 4461
Joined: Thu May 29, 2008 4:04 pm
Location: 30 miles x 100 miles x stinking island
Favorite Disc: Leo

Postby curt » Mon Sep 29, 2008 11:52 am

I have a feeling that there won't be a clear answer as to whether or not that is in.

They key to the definition of a disc being in the basket is it has to break the plane of a line from the edge of the basket. I am not sure exactly where this line exists. If its the outer edge of the basket, yes it is in. If it is the inner, no it is not. If it is the middle, then maybe, I can't really tell from the photo.

also, sorry for the shoddy wording, but the PDGA site is down a the moment and I can't access a rulebook.

P.S. - My initial reaction to that is that it is out (however, i have never actually seen this happen during a round, but have seen a disc hanging by 2 nubs, which I counted in, because a very small part of that disc clearly broke the plane coming from the inside of the basket)
curt
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:04 pm

Any disc supported by the basket is in. So discs hanging on the nubs like the photo are good.

I think counting discs on top of the basket as good will be discussed again before the next rules update. There seems to be growing support for counting them since it appears to be more consistent with basket wedgies. However, the fundamental reason they have not been counted is that those shots hit and landed above the target zone.

Because we can't always see a disc enter a basket, the reason wedgies or hangers count is that it's possible the disc did enter the target properly and was actually stuck in the basket while exiting. Due to this, the benefit of the doubt has been given to all shots stuck in the side or bottom of the basket even if someone is standing right there watching it get stuck and the disc never made it into then out of the basket before getting stuck.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Postby rehder » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:46 pm

I think counting discs on top of the basket as good will be discussed again before the next rules update. There seems to be growing support for counting them since it appears to be more consistent with basket wedgies


Not sure if I think thats a good idea, it will make putting easier still, which IMHO is not a direction we should be going and second it would make a huge difference if the basket has a flat top or big fat numberplate.
Z-Pred, Z-Force, Destroyer, (M,S,Q)OLF, Roc, Wizard&VP
rehder
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1045
Joined: Fri Jul 14, 2006 1:58 pm
Location: Discn in northern Europe

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Mon Sep 29, 2008 2:54 pm

There's growing support but it's still a minority that think that way. There may be more support the other direction to disallow wedgies. But many seem to like the occasional comedy routine of a player sprinting to the basket to retrieve it before it pops out... :lol:
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Next

Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest