So technically if it was called out to him he wouldn't be penalized
803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Off
C. Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc
to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the
thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the
marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is considered a stance violation . The player must demonstrate full
control of balance before advancing toward the hole.
F. A stance violation must be clearly called within three seconds after the infraction to be
valid. The call may be made by any member of the group or an official. When the call is made by
a member of the group, it must subsequently be confirmed by another member of the group. A
player shall receive a warning for the first violation of a stance rule in the round.
Subsequent violations of a stance rule in the same round shall incur a one-throw penalty.
G. Any throw that involves a validly called and seconded stance violation may not be used by the thrower. Re-throws must be taken from the original lie, prior to subsequent play by others in the group.
H. The player may not retrieve the originally thrown disc prior to the re-throw, except in the
case of a putt from within 10 meters. Where a disc is retrieved in violation of this rule, a
one throw penalty shall be imposed without a warning.
domromer wrote:It'd close but I don't think it was a falling putt. Where is that course? It looks killer.
nohr wrote:Here's my question to establish balance do you need to put your nonplant foot down before picking your mini up.
I don't see how the rule you quoted deals with the issue of re-throwing or not. It simply says the for the first offense the player will receive a warning and a second time will receive a penalty. To me, there is not an implication that the existence of a warning would change the need for a re-throw.
That being said, I could definitely see the argument that from the rules, a stance violation does not require a re-throw, since the rule states the penalty is one-stroke. However, I do believe that the common interpretation is that since the throw is illegal, it should not be used for play.
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests