Finishing with 2 on a card

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Fritz, Solty, Booter, Blake_T, Frank Delicious

Finishing with 2 on a card

Postby MIdiscgolfer » Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:34 am

As I understand it if one person out of a threesome leaves mid round for whatever reason that the other two need to join a different card before continuing the round.

Question 1) What's the penalty if they don't? meaning they justcontinue the round as a twosome.

Question 2) If they wait for the group behind them when the group behind gets to their last hole the twosome will still have a hole or more to play. Is the second group obligated to follow them to finish the round and if not what happens if they don't?
"Wise men don't need advice and fools never take it." ....................... Mark Twain
Tree Magnet
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: Mid Michigan
Favorite Disc: Wasp/Buzzz/Comet

Re: Finishing with 2 on a card

Postby black udder » Mon Jul 20, 2009 8:37 am

I'll be interested to hear this since it could be really awkward if you have some foursomes and threesomes and a 4-some is forced to take on 2 more. That could really throw off the pace of the match for that round - especially if the two are INT.
black udder
Naturally Athletic
User avatar
Posts: 4860
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Richmond, VA
Favorite Disc: The one in my hand

Re: Finishing with 2 on a card

Postby Frank Delicious » Tue Jul 21, 2009 10:01 am

From the rulebook:

section 1.6 wrote:To promote fairness, groups shall not be less than three
players, except under extenuating circumstances, as
deemed necessary by the Tournament Director. In cases
where fewer than three players are required to play
together players, an official is required to accompany the
D. Groups shall not be more than five players and should be
limited to four players whenever possible.

so to answer your first question, there does not seem to be a penalty, just that it is advised against but the TD can override that using their judgment.

As for your second question, it seems like no one from the joined group is required to stay with them. They could seek out an official to stay with the twosome and then leave.
Frank Delicious
The Crime Prince of Clown
User avatar
Posts: 12364
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Drowning in a cold river
Favorite Disc: Wraith

Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests