Steady 26542 wrote:I thought I remembered Chuck saying that you couldn't receive two different penalties for the same throw. You would have to take the one that has priority. That doesn't sound right either... Chuck??
Pretty sure you can get multiple penalties. From the FAQ about Marking a Disc Below a Tree:
"Remember to add any applicable penalty throws
"it can sometimes seem unfair to have an obstructed shot AFTER taking a penalty
. A player with good knowledge of the course will know to be especially careful to avoid these types of trees. Also, you have the option of declaring an unplayable lie (and taking the applicable penalty throws, depending on how far you need to move your lie: see 803.06) in case your new lie is an impossible one."
I read this as you take the unplayable lie penalty after
the 2meter penalty, as your lie is where the disc is placed after being moved to the ground, not its position above 2meters in the tree. Conceivably you could have an unlimited number of penalties. I read 803.06 to mean you get a stroke for moving your unplayable lie 5 meters. It doesn't say you can only do it once. If your lie is still unplayable after 5 meters you could move it again and take yet another penalty stroke. And so on until your lie is playable.
curt wrote:As far as the lost disc rule is concerned, I would say it is at least a common practice not to search a full three minutes for discs that are quite unlikely to be found (e.g. - thick underbrush, a casual lake, a disc thrown the very wrong direction off a mountain).
That's a totally different situation from the OP. You're talking about being pretty sure the disc is actually lost. The OP was about knowing where it is, and avoiding looking there because you think you won't like it- in other words, pretending it is lost when it probably isn't.
curt wrote:The difference I see between doing this and holing out from another player's lie is that by declaring a disc lost you move your lie by using the rules to your advantage. In Dogma's example you intentionally relocate your lie in a way that is not prescribed by the rules. While the rules give a punishment for doing so, I think there is an important distinction between moving your lie through the rules and doing so illegally.
My point is that pretending a disc lost without actually looking for it is also breaking the rules.