disc moved during doubles

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

disc moved during doubles

Postby beatz » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:01 pm

quick question,

I throw an putt/upshot towards the basket that is sitting on an elevated green. It comes to rest. My partner follows and hits my disc knocking it 5 feet away from the basket and his disc rolls down the hill. Am i allowed to replace my disc to its original resting point.

If not why ?

and Why were they allowed to in the 08 worlds dubs??
Image
http://www.gdstour.com/index.php
http://www.utopiadiscgolf.com
code: "beatz"
recieve 5% off your order
Grow the sport!!!! Support those that support us!!!!!!
beatz
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 476
Joined: Sat Jan 17, 2009 1:44 pm
Location: the land of holy chains (maine)
Favorite Disc: anything gateway

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby dgdave » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:03 pm

I think if the group calls the disc at rest, thats where its marked.
"The Gauge may be the best disc ever"
-dgdave

Destroyer/Enforcer/PD/TD/XXX/Gauge/Suspect/Clutch/P2
dgdave
DGR Postmaster General
User avatar
 
Posts: 12099
Joined: Mon Jan 15, 2007 8:22 pm
Location: Central OK
Favorite Disc: GAUGE!

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby Timko » Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:44 pm

dgdave is correct. This same rule applies in ball golf as well.
jsun3thousand wrote:Disc golfers are holding the sport back.
Timko
Like Angels Kicking Ass in your Mouth
User avatar
 
Posts: 7708
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: KCMO

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby krazybronco » Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:45 pm

this happened at a league this year with a basket that is in the ground one guy putts and lands on the edge (wanted to go in but didnt) then someone else disc knocked it in he thought it was a bird but everyone else said it came to rest and he still had to putt out and all the officals we had agreed with the group not the one player but he was cool about it
NS destoryer, wraiths, beasts, firebird, teebird, leopard, rocs, and aviars
krazybronco
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 309
Joined: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:23 pm
Location: augusta Ga
Favorite Disc: prefer 11x Teebird

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby Anakha » Sun Aug 23, 2009 12:06 am

krazybronco wrote:this happened at a league this year with a basket that is in the ground one guy putts and lands on the edge (wanted to go in but didnt) then someone else disc knocked it in he thought it was a bird but everyone else said it came to rest and he still had to putt out and all the officals we had agreed with the group not the one player but he was cool about it
What course is this? The basket in the ground sounds interesting, could you describe it?
Anakha
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 771
Joined: Fri Jan 12, 2007 10:17 am
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby Frank Delicious » Sun Aug 23, 2009 6:45 pm

Anakha wrote:
krazybronco wrote:this happened at a league this year with a basket that is in the ground one guy putts and lands on the edge (wanted to go in but didnt) then someone else disc knocked it in he thought it was a bird but everyone else said it came to rest and he still had to putt out and all the officals we had agreed with the group not the one player but he was cool about it
What course is this? The basket in the ground sounds interesting, could you describe it?


He could be talking about the hole that a porch was build around the basket at the height of the rim of the basket. To putt on it you have to try to slide the disc in. I think there is also one in the ground like that also surrounded by pine needles and stuff that lets discs slide well.

I tried to find pics but couldn't
Frank Delicious
The Crime Prince of Clown
User avatar
 
Posts: 12364
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Drowning in a cold river
Favorite Disc: Wraith

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby Star Shark » Sun Aug 23, 2009 9:17 pm

You mean like this?

Image
-- Star Shark
Star Shark
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1466
Joined: Sun Mar 04, 2007 12:27 am
Location: Studio City, CA
Favorite Disc: Ghost, Patriot, SL

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby Frank Delicious » Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:30 am

yes that is what I am talking about.

Thanks.
Frank Delicious
The Crime Prince of Clown
User avatar
 
Posts: 12364
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Drowning in a cold river
Favorite Disc: Wraith

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby JimW » Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:36 am

That cameraman looks like he's expecting a groundhog to pop out of the basket hole at any moment.
discspeed wrote:We're not owls


The core of my game is throwing pink stuff really straight
JimW
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:08 pm
Location: Seminole, FL
Favorite Disc: Whatever

Re: disc moved during doubles

Postby Dogma » Mon Aug 24, 2009 6:53 am

krazybronco wrote:this happened at a league this year with a basket that is in the ground one guy putts and lands on the edge (wanted to go in but didnt) then someone else disc knocked it in he thought it was a bird but everyone else said it came to rest and he still had to putt out and all the officals we had agreed with the group not the one player but he was cool about it

When does the disc have to be declared "at rest"? Did they call it before it got knocked in? Or did it get knocked in and then someone said "no way dude, that disc was at rest before it got hit"?

I ask because it seems like it would have to be called in advance. If a putt gets wedged in the basket it has to be called "at rest" by the group, or you have to run and get it before it falls. You can't wait for it to fall, and then retroactively say it was at rest. How is the situation above any different? I get that the interference rule applies, I'm just asking if "at rest" has to be called in advance, or if it is just assumed.
Dogma
2009 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:27 pm


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest