Catching your own disc

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Catching your own disc

Postby Benton » Sun Oct 11, 2009 11:07 pm

Anyone ever heard that if you make a bad shot, ricochet off a tree right in front of you, and catch the disc before it hits the ground then the stroke doesn’t count? I have had two different people tell me that recently. Luckily it was their shot’s that would have been catchable and not mine.

I doubt the rule is acceptable during a sanctioned event, but maybe casual play?
Benton
Noob
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2007 2:18 am
Location: Middle Tennessee

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby JimW » Mon Oct 12, 2009 4:52 am

Anything is acceptable in casual play if everyone who is affected by it (yourself if you're just playing for your own score, or the people you're with if you're competing against them) is ok with it. I've heard people bring that situation up myself before.

Definitely not a PDGA rule though; in fact that would be a penalty if you intentionally made an effort to catch the disc.
discspeed wrote:We're not owls


The core of my game is throwing pink stuff really straight
JimW
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1381
Joined: Wed Feb 25, 2009 11:08 pm
Location: Seminole, FL
Favorite Disc: Whatever

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby ChUcK » Tue Oct 13, 2009 10:14 am

That's like the "10 second rule" where if you can run, retrieve your drive, and make it back to the tee in 10 seconds you get a free mulligan. Try using that rule in sanctioned play...
We are not like those other golfers. We throw our clubs and keep our balls where they belong. -Ol' Bob
ChUcK
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1163
Joined: Mon Nov 05, 2007 10:26 am
Location: Seattle
Favorite Disc: all of 'em.

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby Fritz » Thu Nov 12, 2009 2:08 pm

That would be an automatic 1 stroke penalty for interference.
FRITZ
Team Millennium
Play Smart. Keep it Simple. Throw MILLENNIUM.
#26702 ♦ CE Omega ♦ Omega SS ♦ QMS ♦ Q Sentinel ♦ CE JLS ♦ Q Polaris ♦ Q Astra ♦ QOLS ♦ QOLF ♦ Q Quasar ♦ CE Exp-1
Fritz
Naturally Athletic
User avatar
 
Posts: 4675
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:01 pm
Location: Fruita, CO
Favorite Disc: QMS

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby Timko » Thu Nov 12, 2009 3:51 pm

It would not be a stroke if it was unintentional (you are protecting yourself from being hit).
jsun3thousand wrote:Disc golfers are holding the sport back.
Timko
Like Angels Kicking Ass in your Mouth
User avatar
 
Posts: 7708
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: KCMO

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby Fritz » Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:08 pm

Furthur wrote:It would not be a stroke if it was unintentional (you are protecting yourself from being hit).


True, but if you tried to catch it our swat it down, it's a penalty. if you just put up your arms and "block" it and take the hit, it's unintentional.
FRITZ
Team Millennium
Play Smart. Keep it Simple. Throw MILLENNIUM.
#26702 ♦ CE Omega ♦ Omega SS ♦ QMS ♦ Q Sentinel ♦ CE JLS ♦ Q Polaris ♦ Q Astra ♦ QOLS ♦ QOLF ♦ Q Quasar ♦ CE Exp-1
Fritz
Naturally Athletic
User avatar
 
Posts: 4675
Joined: Tue Dec 20, 2005 2:01 pm
Location: Fruita, CO
Favorite Disc: QMS

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby Timko » Thu Nov 12, 2009 4:18 pm

It it was truly unintentional, I would also allow someone to catch it. I come from an ultimate background, so my instinct would be to do that if it was flying towards me.
jsun3thousand wrote:Disc golfers are holding the sport back.
Timko
Like Angels Kicking Ass in your Mouth
User avatar
 
Posts: 7708
Joined: Wed Aug 02, 2006 10:21 pm
Location: KCMO

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby black udder » Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:06 pm

ChUcK wrote:That's like the "10 second rule" where if you can run, retrieve your drive, and make it back to the tee in 10 seconds you get a free mulligan. Try using that rule in sanctioned play...


ROTFL - I just imagined that. Sooo funny :P
black udder
Naturally Athletic
User avatar
 
Posts: 4857
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 10:13 pm
Location: Richmond, VA
Favorite Disc: The one in my hand

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby PRES 10 » Thu Nov 12, 2009 7:27 pm

I didn't see it but a pro that I know kicked his disc out of the air in a santioned event. He got the penalty of course, but that would have been sweet to see!

And with my buddies if were messin around we do the 5 second rule! And I have even heard of the 5 second rule that you must rethrow the disc before the 5 sec is up. All of this is for fun of course not done in any type of tournament or competitive play.
Ion|Vector|Leopard|Firebird|Valkyrie|Katana
Soon the MVP Axis!
PRES 10
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 432
Joined: Fri Sep 08, 2006 4:19 pm
Location: Lapeer, Mi
Favorite Disc: ION

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby Peeete » Wed Nov 18, 2009 10:47 am

PRES 10 wrote:I didn't see it but a pro that I know kicked his disc out of the air in a santioned event. He got the penalty of course, but that would have been sweet to see!

Chuck Norris plays disc golf!?
Peeete
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 192
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2006 11:23 am
Location: Fargo
Favorite Disc: mmnumnum

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby BeSquared » Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:11 pm

Peeete wrote:
PRES 10 wrote:I didn't see it but a pro that I know kicked his disc out of the air in a santioned event. He got the penalty of course, but that would have been sweet to see!

Chuck Norris plays disc golf!?

Chuck Norris doesn't throw the disc to the basket, he throws the basket to the disc.
Meh...
BeSquared
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 441
Joined: Mon Dec 22, 2008 7:14 am
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby matchu » Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:15 pm

Benton wrote:Anyone ever heard that if you make a bad shot, ricochet off a tree right in front of you, and catch the disc before it hits the ground then the stroke doesn’t count? I have had two different people tell me that recently. Luckily it was their shot’s that would have been catchable and not mine.

I doubt the rule is acceptable during a sanctioned event, but maybe casual play?


It counts at OCTOBERFRIZ! If the disc comes back to you rethrow no stroke! It actually happened to me.
Synchronize the why’s, the if’s the lies. Shake and sift through the mess. Digress the flesh left is our disguise.

matchu
matchu
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 797
Joined: Fri Feb 09, 2007 2:03 pm

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby chiggins » Thu Nov 19, 2009 3:19 pm

BeSquared wrote:
Peeete wrote:
PRES 10 wrote:I didn't see it but a pro that I know kicked his disc out of the air in a santioned event. He got the penalty of course, but that would have been sweet to see!

Chuck Norris plays disc golf!?

Chuck Norris doesn't throw the disc to the basket, he throws the basket to the disc.


He's a bad man with a strong putt.

Image
chiggins
2009 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 751
Joined: Mon Apr 27, 2009 8:51 am

Re: Catching your own disc

Postby inthedrift » Fri Nov 20, 2009 1:19 am

Dayum!! Somebody was pissed that they missed a putt..... :lol:
inthedrift
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 690
Joined: Thu Nov 20, 2008 2:42 am
Location: Anchorage, AK
Favorite Disc: Firebird


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests