curt wrote:Fortunately, there is a rule that deals with that specific situation:
803.07.C. Any player who consciously alters the course of a thrown disc, or consciously moves or
obscures another player's thrown disc at rest or a marker disc, other than by the action of a
competitively thrown disc or in the process of identification, shall receive two penalty
throws, without a warning, if observed by any two players or an official.
Actually, now that I have cited that rule, I think it may be the best rule for the whole scenario. While I wholeheartedly would prefer to see the perpetrator DQ'ed, the benefit I see is that the thrower would have the option of re-throwing the shot. (It's a clause for intentional interference in 803.07.A). Otherwise the thrower has to take stroke AND rethrow anyway once the disc has been declared lost. You can't undeclare the disc lost b/c it is found, regardless of the circumstances of the lost disc. Also, 2 strokes is a pretty substantial penalty for the person who interferes with the disc.
Interesting...one time ina tournament a card member got nailed by a disc, the group behind didn't yell fore, so we put a couple sticks and some grass on top of his disc. Never knew we coulda been stroked. It was completely obvious where his disc was, so it didnt' hide it (all dirt on the area no grass for 10 feet or so so it stood out).
Learn something new everyday.