803.06 Optional Rethrow
At any time, a player may elect to rethrow from the previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc or, if the marker disc has been moved, from an approximate lie as agreed to by the majority of the group or an official. The original throw plus one penalty throw are counted in the player's score.
So if your tee shot goes deep in the woods, or in a spot that you just don't feel safe playing from, can you retee and take the one throw penalty? I know you can retee if you go OB, but what if you don't go OB? It sounds like you could, but the rule specifies the previous lie as evidenced by the marker disc. The tee is not a lie, is it?
I'm just wondering if one of the girls in a group at my last tournament could have reteed instead of taking five shots to get back out of the woods and then going OB for a circle nine. Also, I was playing a course recently that has a lot of tight lines, and some of the trees have low thin branches that stick straight out at eye level and are broken off. I almost put my eye out twice trying to play my tee shots. It seemed like I couldn't turn my head safely in proximity to those trees.