803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby 7ontheline » Tue Jul 19, 2011 1:58 pm

Shelby Forest has taken a beating this spring and has numerous LARGE fallen braches and trees. During doubles this Sunday a disc came to rest under the top of a fallen tree. The stance, possible run up area, and line of site was totally covered by branches. We played it where it lied and could have twisted something from the crazy stances we took to keep contact behind the disc.

Could we have taken the no closer, in the line, and five meter max relief behind the disc under this rule?
Magic / Judge / PA2 - Tursas / QMS / Buzzz / Mace - QJ / E / F - Renegade / O / D1

JHern wrote:If your putter isn't your favorite disc, get a new putter.
7ontheline
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:23 pm
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Favorite Disc: Judge

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby Apothecary » Tue Jul 19, 2011 2:03 pm

yup.
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
Apothecary
Freaky Jesus
User avatar
 
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:35 am
Favorite Disc: Ion/Comet

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby Itchy » Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:39 pm

Is this the casual relief rule?

Is there a 1 stroke penalty for moving your lie 5m behind your current lie to get breathing room from a tree?
Gorilla Boy Spider Monkey
TL - FL - Valkyrie - PD - Cyclone - Element - Meteor - Roc Plus - Gremlin - Summit - Wizard
SLO Throwers mini
Itchy
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 636
Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:34 pm
Location: San Luis Obispo/Lompoc, California
Favorite Disc: S Gremlin

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:06 pm

No penalty if it's a casual obstacle you can't move. Otherwise, you can move back on the line of play inbounds as far as you want for a 1-throw penalty.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby 7ontheline » Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:37 pm

Sorry Chuck, I guess that's my rules question... is the fallen tree a casual obstacle? Its a lot more than a "broken branch" its the whole tree and its not going to moved except with the help of a chainsaw.

Thanks All.
Magic / Judge / PA2 - Tursas / QMS / Buzzz / Mace - QJ / E / F - Renegade / O / D1

JHern wrote:If your putter isn't your favorite disc, get a new putter.
7ontheline
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 595
Joined: Thu Jun 16, 2011 12:23 pm
Location: Midtown Memphis, TN
Favorite Disc: Judge

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Tue Jul 19, 2011 6:49 pm

If it's not a live tree, but a dead tree that's fallen, it qualifies as a casual obstacle that can't be moved. So you get relief on the line of play behind it.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby curt » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:41 pm

If he had a chainsaw and was determined enough, could he move it?*

how long would he have to accomplish his task?

*I'm assuming it isn't connected to the ground in any way.
curt
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:48 pm

No chainsaw action in tournament play (damaging an obstacle on the course, noise distraction for other groups). But similar to the Tiger Woods incident where several strong guys lifted and moved a rock out of his stance on TV in a tournament, you could get people to help move it. Although there's technically no time limit to remove a distraction before throwing (mom and baby in stroller moving slowly on a path), the rule provides an alternative in this case where the player can move back on the line of play without moving it. So the branch/tree should be easily movable by the people available nearby.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby curt » Tue Jul 19, 2011 8:53 pm

Does the not damaging obstacle clause apply to casual obstacles? I wouldn't have thought to apply it to them. (Of course, for the most part, it doesn't matter as a casual obstacle can't really be destroyed in a way that matters).
curt
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!

Re: 803.05 A & B Stance Ruling Please

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Tue Jul 19, 2011 9:08 pm

Does the not damaging obstacle clause apply to casual obstacles?

Check out 803.05F. Casual obstacles are still part of the course. Breaking a dead branch might not be called but really shouldn't be done deliberately.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest