can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby Booter » Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:03 pm

ok i dont have time to fully type it out but somebody made a post already on dgcr about it. anywho, a buddy of mine was the guy who asked the spotter to move his chair. i call bs on it and he should of moved the fucking chair.

what say you guys>? is the spotter in the right or no?

http://www.dgcoursereview.com/forums/sh ... hp?t=40223
always looking for:
flat pink/red barstamp buzzzs, ce aviars, pearly pro candy fb's, pearly champion gators (fr or stock stamp),
Booter
Das Boot!
User avatar
 
Posts: 4361
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:43 pm
Location: plaztek bins!
Favorite Disc: square ones

Re: question about objects

Postby Booter » Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:03 pm

this is my opinion

that was some bullshit . ive played with the spotter before and hes not too savy on the rules. regardless if he should of moved it by rules or not. it should of been moved out of courtesy just like he moves himself from the players line. he knows better,it shouldnt of even been an issue. and worm wasnt bent out of shape for no reason,it was bs and he had the right to be upset about it. i would of moved the chair myself,regardless. call my ass on it or not,that chair is not imbedded in the ground so its not apart of the course even if it was there before the rounds. i doubt that chair stayed in the same spot all day long.

either way, jesus should of moved it instead of just being a dick about it.ive played with him enough before to know how he can get sometimes if hes pissy. i think spotters should have a rule book on had when shit like this happens. while its not a common occurance,it obviously happens. and that thing with the ob...yea thats a joke. i dont care if the disc is almost all ob and only half an inch is in bounds. its still in bounds and they get relief of up to a meter away from the ob.

it actually really annoyed the crap out of me at the fact that john had to deal with that.
always looking for:
flat pink/red barstamp buzzzs, ce aviars, pearly pro candy fb's, pearly champion gators (fr or stock stamp),
Booter
Das Boot!
User avatar
 
Posts: 4361
Joined: Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:43 pm
Location: plaztek bins!
Favorite Disc: square ones

Re: can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby Apothecary » Mon Jul 18, 2011 12:22 pm

sounds like you have a moron for a td utilizing moron spotters.
Quidquid latine dictum sit, altum sonatur.
Apothecary
Freaky Jesus
User avatar
 
Posts: 1554
Joined: Sun Jan 03, 2010 8:35 am
Favorite Disc: Ion/Comet

Re: can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Mon Jul 18, 2011 1:44 pm

It's significantly the player's responsibility it went down this way if none of them had a rulebook and could simply point out where they were allowed to ask the spotter to move the chair.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Re: can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby warobert » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:04 pm

The rule clearly states that the player has the right to request the spotter move his belongings, but the issue for me is what to do if the spotter refuses to do so. Common sense says its a bitch move but the rules as written seem to allow it.
Mark Ellis wrote:Myth: Climo could beat you with a trash can lid.

Truth: Climo could beat you with a trash can lid left-handed.
warobert
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 210
Joined: Mon Mar 29, 2010 7:07 pm
Favorite Disc: teebird

Re: can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby Frank Delicious » Wed Jul 20, 2011 9:48 pm

throw a disc into the spotter.
Frank Delicious
The Crime Prince of Clown
User avatar
 
Posts: 12364
Joined: Thu Mar 23, 2006 3:43 pm
Location: Drowning in a cold river
Favorite Disc: Wraith

Re: can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby Peot » Wed Jul 20, 2011 10:37 pm

Frank Delicious wrote:throw a disc into the spotter.


Just make sure you're <6 ft away?
Peot
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 240
Joined: Mon Aug 02, 2010 7:58 pm

Re: can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby new013 » Thu Jul 21, 2011 12:03 am

warobert wrote:The rule clearly states that the player has the right to request the spotter move his belongings, but the issue for me is what to do if the spotter refuses to do so. Common sense says its a bitch move but the rules as written seem to allow it.


set the chair on fire and start singing any GnR song.
"F*ck... here comes that guy New013."
new013
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 555
Joined: Sat Jul 16, 2011 11:00 am
Favorite Disc: TL

Re: can a spotter move an object thats in a players line?

Postby Lamp » Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:11 pm

That situation probably would have pissed me off more than having to wait behind slow groups that won't let you play through. And I believe that anything that isn't embedded into the ground, or attached to a tree, should be allowed to be moved. I can't imagine that the spotter actually thought he would break a rule for moving a chair, maybe he wasn't concerned about that, and just felt like being a prick.

Who knows man, if you were there booter, how would you have reacted?
Lamp
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 225
Joined: Sat Jul 02, 2011 9:42 pm
Location: Wisconsin


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Yahoo [Bot] and 1 guest