Moving Debris

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Moving Debris

Postby Dogma » Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:36 pm

I'm looking for clarification on the following:
803.5 B. Casual Obstacles to a Stance: A player may obtain relief only from the following obstacles that are in the stance or run-up area: casual water, loose leaves or debris, broken branches no longer connected to a tree, motor vehicles, harmful insects or animals, players' equipment, people, or any item or area specifically designated by the director before the round. The player must first attempt to remove the obstacle. If it is impractical to move the obstacle, the player's lie may be relocated to the nearest lie which is no closer to the hole, is on the line of play, and is not more than five meters from the original lie, as agreed to by a majority of the group or an official (unless greater casual relief is announced by the director).

In the past I have (mistakenly?) assumed that it meant that any deadfall on the course could be moved. Reading it more closely carefully, it appears that you can only move debris or dead limbs that are in the way of your run up or stance area. If I have a big dead branch that isn't attached to a tree, lying directly in my line of fire but just ahead of my stance, I'm not allowed to move it. Is that right?

Is the same true for a large branch that has landed on the basket, effectively blocking it? It can't be moved until after the round is over?

This appears to be supported by:
803.5 A. Obstacles to a Stance or Throwing Motion: With the exception of casual obstacles to a stance as described in 803.05 B, a player is not allowed to move any obstacle on the course...
Dogma
2009 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:27 pm

Re: Moving Debris

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Mon Jul 18, 2011 6:55 pm

Correct.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Re: Moving Debris

Postby Dogma » Mon Jul 18, 2011 8:48 pm

Thanks Chuck!
Dogma
2009 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1250
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2006 6:27 pm

Re: Moving Debris

Postby rodman20 » Sat Jul 23, 2011 7:11 pm

unless that item fell during the round of play correct? Say a stiff breeze knocked down the branch blocking the basket during the round then it could be removed?
rodman20
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 365
Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 12:17 am
Favorite Disc: Teebird/Roc


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests