Putting Question.

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Putting Question.

Postby himynameismatt » Sat Aug 13, 2011 12:37 pm

I guess this is more of a foot fault question. But it's been digging at me for a few weeks now.

The question is, is it a legal jump putt if your jump lands you inside the 10M circle? For instance if the disc is just outside or on the edge of the 10M line.

Had a guy in league who brought it up a few weeks ago and I wasn't sure...Thanks in advance.
Wizard - Buzzz - Predator - TD - PD - Destroyer
himynameismatt
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 367
Joined: Tue Nov 09, 2010 2:40 am
Location: Portland, OR
Favorite Disc: Wizard/Buzzz/PD

Re: Putting Question.

Postby curt » Sat Aug 13, 2011 1:36 pm

The only thing that matters is where your lie is. If the lie is outside of 10M then you can jump putt, regardless of where you end up afterward.
curt
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!

Re: Putting Question.

Postby Steady 26542 » Sat Aug 13, 2011 9:58 pm

What if half your disc is inside the circle and the other half is out? If you don't mark your disc can you jump putt? (Your stance is outside the circle.)
Image
Team MILLENNIUM
Team Gorilla Boy
Team Iron Lion
Steady 26542
2010 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Quad Cities
Favorite Disc: Omega SS

Re: Putting Question.

Postby Pironix » Sat Aug 13, 2011 10:43 pm

Steady 26542 wrote:What if half your disc is inside the circle and the other half is out? If you don't mark your disc can you jump putt? (Your stance is outside the circle.)


Yup. Since your point of contact is outside the circle you are considered outside of the circle... at least that's how it was explained to me.
Pironix
Noob
 
Posts: 67
Joined: Wed Jan 23, 2008 11:25 am
Location: Wichita, Kansas

Re: Putting Question.

Postby curt » Sun Aug 14, 2011 7:50 am

Almost, but not quote. It is defined by wherever the read edge of your marker/disc.

So if you had a disc on half in front half behind you could jump putt because the rear edge of it is behind the line. If the rear edge were just in front of the line and that put your stance behind te line you couldnt jump putt
curt
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Bing [Bot] and 1 guest