Taking Cash

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Taking Cash

Postby Steady 26542 » Tue May 10, 2011 9:09 am

This is for Chuck or anyone else that knows. If a 25 yr old 940 rated player finishes tied for last cash in open and accepts the $15 cash, is that player banned from playing advanced? I thought you could accept cash and still play advanced so long as your rating was below a certain level. Correct me if I'm wrong.
Image
Team MILLENNIUM
Team Gorilla Boy
Team Iron Lion
Steady 26542
2010 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Quad Cities
Favorite Disc: Omega SS

Re: Taking Cash

Postby juju » Tue May 10, 2011 9:34 am

970 is the cutoff, but the pDGA doesn't allow you to play majors in advanced if you take cash in open.
juju
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 768
Joined: Fri Aug 21, 2009 4:15 pm
Favorite Disc: First Run Buzzz

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Sean40474 » Thu May 12, 2011 9:10 am

Juju is correct, I've had the same conversation with Chuck on another forum about this very same topic.
It's all about discipline and focused practice!

masterbeato wrote:...900 feet, everybody is happy.
Sean40474
Colonel Cleavage
User avatar
 
Posts: 875
Joined: Wed Apr 21, 2010 12:06 pm
Location: North Alabama
Favorite Disc: PDGazelle/Comet/Pure

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Steady 26542 » Thu May 12, 2011 9:37 pm

Thanks guys!
Image
Team MILLENNIUM
Team Gorilla Boy
Team Iron Lion
Steady 26542
2010 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Quad Cities
Favorite Disc: Omega SS

Re: Taking Cash

Postby NOHalffastpull » Fri May 13, 2011 9:14 am

Mark

Your friend should expect the following message from the folks in GA:

Dear PDGA Member,
Our records indicate that you have recently accepted cash at a PDGA event. When a player accepts cash while competing, their classification then becomes professional.

If this information is accurate congratulations on your new professional status. If you have been recorded as taking cash in error, please contact us as soon as possible. We will then contact the TD and acquire the correct results from the tournament before you are reclassified to professional status.

Thank you,
Sara Nicholson


That $15 will cost and extra $25 (every year) to upgrade his membership.
What was he thinking?

steve timm
NOHalffastpull
Tree Magnet
User avatar
 
Posts: 128
Joined: Fri Dec 04, 2009 4:45 pm
Location: B o B
Favorite Disc: still searching ....

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Steady 26542 » Fri May 13, 2011 11:11 am

Thanks Steve. Had I talked to him before he accepted the cash I would have strongly discouraged him from taking it. Take merchandise instead. I know it's nice to compete with the big dogs, but it gets old missing last cash tourney after tourney...
Image
Team MILLENNIUM
Team Gorilla Boy
Team Iron Lion
Steady 26542
2010 DGR Donator
User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Sun Apr 20, 2008 8:39 pm
Location: Quad Cities
Favorite Disc: Omega SS

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Chadi » Tue Mar 13, 2012 2:57 pm

I'm teetering between am and pro this year and was wondering about some symantecs on the rules. I understand that if I accept cash as cash I will lose my amateur status meaning I can play AM events provided I stay under 970 rated, whereas if I haven't accepted cash I can retain amateur status and go above the 970 ceiling. My thought for the summer was to start accepting cash after playing an NT, like USADGC.

My questions are about the fine print in amateur classification. So if I accept cash earlier in the year I cannot play in an NT? What if I accept cash where there are no ratings updates between events? What are the rules for special events such as doubles, cash open events, mulligan, etc.?
Chadi
Noob
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:47 pm
Location: St. Paul
Favorite Disc: Magnet

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Pwingles » Tue Mar 13, 2012 3:28 pm

Also, with the TDs permission can you not play pro/open and claim your winnings in plastic or whatever?
Pwingles
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1059
Joined: Mon Nov 16, 2009 5:49 pm
Location: Missouwi
Favorite Disc: Gwoove

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Tue Mar 13, 2012 4:08 pm

TDs reporting cash is independent of ratings updates. Once you accept cash and it's posted or reported to the PDGA, you lose your Am status for the Am Majors - Doubles, Am Worlds and Am Nats (USADGC). As Roc Lover mentioned, Ams can accept any winnings in pro divisions as merch to retain Am status.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Re: Taking Cash

Postby krupicka » Wed Mar 14, 2012 5:28 am

If you take cash, make sure you take more than $25 as that is how much more your PDGA renewal will cost next year.
PDGA #28238
krupicka
Noob
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:00 am
Location: Naperville IL

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Pat » Wed Mar 14, 2012 6:47 pm

krupicka wrote:If you take cash, make sure you take more than $25 as that is how much more your PDGA renewal will cost next year.


can u renew the following year as an AM?

or any following years?
Keep on Chooglin'
Pat
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1046
Joined: Sat May 10, 2008 8:31 pm
Location: Northeast PA

Re: Taking Cash

Postby krupicka » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:14 am

Once you are classified as a pro, you can no longer renew at the Am rate.
PDGA #28238
krupicka
Noob
 
Posts: 10
Joined: Thu Mar 01, 2007 8:00 am
Location: Naperville IL

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Thu Mar 15, 2012 6:10 am

You can always petition the PDGA to revert back to Am status. However, it's not like you would be able to get away with doing that every year after you accept some cash in a pro division.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Chadi » Thu Mar 15, 2012 11:03 am

Can you collect cash from other events and remain amateur? IE playing open at a doubles tournament or at Becker Cash Open
Chadi
Noob
 
Posts: 40
Joined: Wed Jun 04, 2008 11:47 pm
Location: St. Paul
Favorite Disc: Magnet

Re: Taking Cash

Postby MIdiscgolfer » Thu Mar 15, 2012 5:55 pm

Can you simply decline the cash and let the club keep it to help out with course improvement? Or does that constitute accepting cash and then donating it to the club?
"Wise men don't need advice and fools never take it." ....................... Mark Twain
MIdiscgolfer
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 234
Joined: Sun Oct 19, 2008 6:57 pm
Location: Mid Michigan
Favorite Disc: Wasp/Buzzz/Comet

Next

Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron