Taking Cash

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Fritz, Solty, Booter, Blake_T, Frank Delicious

Re: Taking Cash

Postby NoMoreTinCup » Fri Mar 16, 2012 4:58 am

Excellent question. I might consider taking my entry fee back in merch, and donating the rest. Chuck, if you never have the cash in your hand, have you still accepted it if you donate it back to the local club?
Elk Creek Disc Golf
Tree Magnet
Posts: 351
Joined: Thu Jan 22, 2009 9:00 pm
Location: Virginia
Favorite Disc: Craft Discs

Re: Taking Cash

Postby Chuck Kennedy » Fri Mar 16, 2012 6:07 am

If you accept cash in a PDGA sanctioned event based on your finish position, that changes your status to pro. That includes sanctioned doubles. Your partner can't "accept" your share as a way around it. Winning money in skins, ace fund or cash CTPs does not count towards pro winnings. You may accept prizes as merch or decline payout. The TD normally passes your declined winnings down to the next place. However, the TD could potentially put your money toward a course fund as long as they report it as "merch" on the TD report so you don't get credited as winning cash.
Chuck Kennedy
1000 Rated Poster
Posts: 1652
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2007 10:42 pm
Location: Twin Cities


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest