Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.
Moderators: Timko, Fritz, Solty, Booter, Blake_T, Frank Delicious
Before I play in the mornings I like to eat my breakfast at the park. I was eating and watching people play and this one guy would putt on a hyzer and always put his bag about 6 feet behind the basket a little to the left. Well, he missed about 1/3rd of his putts that I watched, but if he missed, he missed wide right and his putter would hyzer around and hit his bag then stop.
I know if somebody else's bag is in your way and you don't ask them to move it, it becomes a part of the course, but can you purposely place your own bag to stop your disc? Is there some kind of sportsmanship rule against that?
Gorilla Boy Spider Monkey
TL - FL - Valkyrie - PD - Cyclone - Element - Meteor - Roc Plus - Gremlin - Summit - Wizard
SLO Throwers mini
- Fairway Surgeon
- Posts: 636
- Joined: Fri Aug 27, 2010 8:34 pm
- Location: San Luis Obispo/Lompoc, California
- Favorite Disc: S Gremlin
Part of Rule 803.07.A reads: "Players shall not stand or leave their equipment where interference with the flight
or path of a disc could easily occur."
The rules go on to clarify that an away player may require a other players to move their bags, but doesn't say anything about someone intentionally putting their bag in the way. I think the rule is pretty clear on not leaving your bag where it can easily get in the way of a shot, but there isn't any punishment for it in the rulebook. I think if someone did this repeatedly, and refused to quite, they could be disqualified for intentionally breaking the rules though. (I think that's in there somewhere).
- Fairway Surgeon
- Posts: 602
- Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:39 pm
- Location: In a cave
- Favorite Disc: Rawww!
Return to Rules Discussion
Who is online
Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests