Folly Putt

Rules Discussion and General PDGA discussion.

Moderators: Timko, Solty, Frank Delicious, Blake_T, Fritz, Booter

Folly Putt

Postby nice drive kid » Wed May 14, 2008 8:09 pm

One of the guys in my group at league was accused of making a "folly putt" yesterday. I didn't see what he did, and didn't want to seem stupid for not knowing. Anyone know what this means?
nice drive kid
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:51 pm
Location: Wickham / Cross Farms CT
Favorite Disc: CFR Gator

Postby MDR_3000 » Wed May 14, 2008 8:19 pm

I'm pretty sure (or hope) he said "falling putt". It's where you advance past your lie inside the 10m circle.
MDR_3000
I Throw Faaar
 
Posts: 825
Joined: Tue Nov 28, 2006 1:48 pm
Location: Davenport, IA

Postby gratefuldisc » Wed May 14, 2008 9:12 pm

You played wick league?? Figures, the first week I don't go...
gratefuldisc
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 511
Joined: Fri Dec 21, 2007 4:25 pm
Location: A tumble down shack in bigfoot county
Favorite Disc: JLS

Postby nice drive kid » Thu May 15, 2008 12:46 am

Yeah man. I got a shirt that has my name on it so everyone knows who I am on the course from now on. I won't be there for the rest of the summer either... bad league to miss bro.
nice drive kid
Fairway Surgeon
 
Posts: 746
Joined: Thu Aug 23, 2007 7:51 pm
Location: Wickham / Cross Farms CT
Favorite Disc: CFR Gator

Postby corey115 » Mon Jul 21, 2008 12:10 am

This may be a little long but it covers it all. :lol:

803.04 Stance, Subsequent to Teeing Off
A. When the disc is released, a player must:
(1) Have at least one supporting point that is in contact with the playing surface on the line of play and within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc (except as specified in 803.04 E); and,
(2) have no supporting point contact with the marker disc or any object closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc; and,
(3) have all of his or her supporting points in-bounds.

B. Stepping past the marker disc is permitted after the disc is released, except when putting within 10 meters.

C. Any throw from within 10 meters or less, as measured from the rear of the marker disc to the base of the hole, is considered a putt. A follow-through after a putt that causes the thrower to make any supporting point contact closer to the hole than the rear edge of the marker disc constitutes a falling putt and is considered a stance violation . The player must demonstrate full control of balance before advancing toward the hole.

D. A player must choose the stance that will result in the least movement of any part of any obstacle that is a permanent or integral part of the course.

E. If a large solid obstacle prevents a player from taking a legal stance within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc, the player shall take his or her stance immediately behind that obstacle on the line of play. The player must comply with all the provisions of 803.04 A other than being within 30 centimeters directly behind the marker disc.

F. A stance violation must be clearly called within three seconds after the infraction to be valid. The call may be made by any member of the group or an official. When the call is made by a member of the group, it must subsequently be confirmed by another member of the group. A player shall receive a warning for the first violation of a stance rule in the round. Subsequent violations of a stance rule in the same round shall incur a one-throw penalty.

G. Any throw that involves a validly called and seconded stance violation may not be used by the thrower. Re-throws must be taken from the original lie, prior to subsequent play by others in the group.

H. The player may not retrieve the originally thrown disc prior to the re-throw, except in the case of a putt from within 10 meters. Where a disc is retrieved in violation of this rule, a one throw penalty shall be imposed without a warning.
Predator | Avenger | Boss | Drone | Buzzz | Yeti
corey115
1000 Rated Poster
 
Posts: 1116
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 2:42 pm
Location: Minnesota
Favorite Disc: Buzzz

Re: Folly Putt

Postby Seneca_22 » Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:48 pm

So I was just told this weekend that falling putts have nothing to do with when your disc hits the basket, it's all about demonstrating balance before you advance. One of the people I used to play w/a lot said you can advance if it hits the basket first, similar to say the free throw rule in basketball for the shooter.

But now I see that that's not the case.

What would be the rule in a tournament, say on the last hole, you haven't had any violations up till then, and you have a falling putt on the last hole? Stroked? Or is it your first warning?
Seneca_22
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Santa Fe, soon South Dakota

Re: Folly Putt

Postby Dig It » Mon Oct 27, 2008 12:55 pm

Seneca_22 wrote:What would be the rule in a tournament, say on the last hole, you haven't had any violations up till then, and you have a falling putt on the last hole? Stroked? Or is it your first warning?


It would be their first warning.
Darmok and Gilad at Tanagra. Shaka, when the walls fell.
Dig It
1000 Rated Poster
User avatar
 
Posts: 1584
Joined: Mon Dec 10, 2007 9:13 pm
Location: Denver, CO
Favorite Disc: circleStamPooPlate

Re: Folly Putt

Postby curt » Mon Oct 27, 2008 3:20 pm

and they would have to take the putt again, regardless of the previous outcome.
curt
Fairway Surgeon
User avatar
 
Posts: 602
Joined: Sat Apr 05, 2008 4:39 pm
Location: In a cave
Favorite Disc: Rawww!

Re: Folly Putt

Postby Seneca_22 » Tue Oct 28, 2008 8:33 am

There it is right there. Knew there had to be more than just a warning for foot faulting on a putt on the final hole.
Seneca_22
Tree Magnet
 
Posts: 256
Joined: Wed Apr 18, 2007 9:35 am
Location: Santa Fe, soon South Dakota


Return to Rules Discussion

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest